Beekeeper Interview: Bee2Bee Honey

Our March box partner is Bee2Bee Honey, a Houston-based beekeeping collective. We asked Nicole Buergers a few questions and are delighted to share more about her groundbreaking venture with our readers and subscribers.

“Founded in 2015, Bee2Bee Honey Collective is Houston’s only commercial and backyard beekeeping service and online local honey marketplace. Founded by Nicole Buergers, a burnout B2B internet marketer, who decided to leave her corporate marketing agency and do something completely different. She both wanted to encourage “newbee” beekeepers as well as provide online retail services for the established hobbyist beekeeper.” (bee2bee.com)

 

Thank you, Nicole!

What inspired you to become a beekeeper?
In 2004, I watched a PBS series about beekeeping and was instantly hooked. Honey bees are fascinating and it seemed like a rewarding experience. I took beekeeping classes and read books, but as a renter, never thought I would become a beekeeper. I finally got my first hive in 2013 – a birthday present from my boyfriend Brenden.
Are you a full-time beekeeper? Is your family involved?
Most of the time, yes! When I’m not beekeeping, I have a few part-time jobs: I’m a cheesemonger at the Houston Dairymaids and marketing oracle at Nefer Games. I have a team of interns who help me.
What have bees taught you about life?
Resilience. We are stronger than we think we are.

What is your fondest memory since you began keeping bees? 
Definitely hiving my bees for the first time. My neighbors gathered around to watch at sunset as I somewhat nervously shook my package of bees into their new home.
Where are your hives, and how many do you have? 
Bee2Bee has a collective of beekeepers – “newbees” who are learning how to beekeep through Bee2Bee. We have hives in over fifteen locations in Houston neighborhoods and suburbs.
What are some the challenges that you face as a beekeeper? That your bees face? 
My challenge as a beekeeper is the typical perception about bees – I meet people everyday completely terrified of bees. As far as the bees, beyond the usual pests and diseases, I worry often about mosquito spraying.
Where are your hives, and how many do you have? 

Sourwood! I had my first Sourwood honey at the American Cheese Society conference in Sacramento and it blew my mind. I’m also quite fond of infusions – I made a hibiscus infusion using local roselle and it was awesome.
What do you want people to know about bees? 
I’d like people to be more conscious about pollinators and their influence on our agricultural system.
What are your favorite uses for honey? 
As a cheesemonger, I would have to say pairing cheese and honey. The lavender-infused honey in March’s Hive Box is awesome with fresh cheeses, particularly Bellwether Farms ricotta, Cypress Grove’s Purple Haze and Cowgirl Creamery’s MT Tam.
What can our subscribers and other individuals, who may not be beekeepers, do to support bees and beekeepers?

Subscribing to the Hive Box is a great start! Knowing where your honey from is important. I recommend buying honey with an address or a phone number – it’s a good indicator that the honey you’re buying is actually honey. Beyond buying honey, planting year-round, pollinator-friendly blooms is always helpful. What most people don’t know is that they can provide a water source for pollinators – especially in dry areas or during the hottest part of the year.

Learn more about Nicole and her collective by visiting her website Bee2BeeHoney and her Instagram page @bee2beehoney.
Leave a Reply

